Merge Fields give senders the ability to customize each copy of a Template with custom text before sending. When building a Reusable Template, you will have the ability to place Merge Fields. Use the Document Overlay tool to drag and drop the fields to the desired locations in the document. Once you place the fields on the document, you will be prompted to designate a reference name. This will be the name of the field that the sender will be prompted to fill each time a copy of the Template is sent.
The merge data entered by the Sender is merged onto the copy of the template before sending. The merge data is locked to the document and cannot be edited by other parties.